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Sacramento Region Begins Final Wave of Cell Phone  
and Texting High Visibility Enforcement 

 

Phone in One Hand. Ticket in the Other. 
 
Sacramento, CA – Beginning today, drivers in the greater Sacramento region who are observed texting or 
talking on a hand-held cell phone will be targeted in a special enforcement operation that will last through 
June 30. Thirty-seven local police departments and the California Highway Patrol (CHP) will participate in 
the enforcement effort. 
 
This is the third and final high visibility enforcement period that was developed to test tactics that may be 
employed nationally in the future.  In 2012, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) 
awarded the California Office of Traffic Safety (OTS) $600,000 to fund three waves of enforcement along 
with the message “Phone in One Hand, Ticket in the Other” designed to educate drivers about the dangers of 
distracted driving. A total of 3,008 citations were issued during the first wave last December, increasing to 
4,750 during the second wave in February. The special enforcement region stretches from Modesto to 
Marysville and Vallejo to South Lake Tahoe. 
 
 “Distracted driving is a dangerous problem,” said OTS Director Christopher J. Murphy.  “For everyone's 
safety, drivers need to focus on the road and refrain from talking or texting on a cell phone. California has 
strict mobile device laws in place and this “Phone in One Hand. Ticket in the Other” campaign offers a 
constant reminder to drivers to do the right thing and practice safe driving.”  
 
Drivers caught talking or texting on a hand-held cell phone will receive a first-time ticket costing a minimum 
of $162, with a second offense costing $285.  However, the goal of the special enforcement operation is not 
to issue tickets, but to raise awareness about the dangers of distracted driving. 
 
The California Office of Traffic Safety offers these simple tips to keep you or someone you know from being 
a victim of distracted driving:  
   

• While talking on a cell phone, up to 37 percent of the brain functioning needed for driving is used 
toward that conversation, rather than driving.  

• Turn off your phone and/or put it out of reach while driving 
• Include in your outgoing message that you can’t answer while you are driving 
• Don’t call or text anyone at a time when you think they may be driving 
• Remember: Phone in One Hand. Ticket in the Other.  
 

For more information on distracted driving, please visit www.distraction.gov/sacramentoregion.  
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