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Cell Phone Distracted Driving Deaths Down Since Laws Enacted 
 

Drivers Becoming Aware of Dangers and Penalties 
 
The California Office of Traffic Safety (OTS) today announced deaths due to hand-held cell 
phone use by drivers have dropped since California enacted a ban on hand-held cell phone use 
while driving in July, 2008. The analysis, conducted by the Safe Transportation Research and 
Education Center (SafeTREC) at the University of California, Berkeley, showed that, when 
looking at state crash records two years before and two years after the hand-held ban went into 
effect, overall traffic deaths declined 22 percent while hand-held cell phone driver deaths went 
down 47 percent.  Similar results were shown for hands-free cell phone use as well as injuries in 
both categories. 
 
“These results suggest that the law banning hand-held cell phone use while driving had a positive 
impact on reducing traffic fatalities and injuries,” said Dr. David Ragland, Director of 
SafeTREC. 
 
Contributing to the decline in cell phone deaths and injuries is an overall drop in cell phone 
usage while driving.  A Statewide Intercept Opinion Survey commissioned with federal funds by 
OTS last summer showed 40 percent of California drivers reported they talk less (handheld and 
hands free) since enactment of the hand-held cell phone ban. In February 2010, the Insurance 
Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS) reported similar results from their telephone survey which 
found that 44 percent of drivers in states with bans reported they don't use phones (hand-held or 
hands-free) when driving, compared with 30 percent in states without such laws. Further, IIHS 
observational research found that bans on hand-held phoning while driving can have big and 
long-term effects in curbing hand-held cell phone use. 
  
“While we are thrilled to see that the hand-held ban in California has worked to reduce distracted 
driving crashes and overall cell phone use, there are still far too many drivers talking and texting 
while driving,” said Christopher J. Murphy, Director for the California Office of Traffic Safety. 
 “A good step for parents is to never call or text your kids if you think they might be driving.” 

 
(more) 

 



Cell phone usage while driving is top of the mind with California drivers, which they see as 
carrying a significant traffic safety threat.  The same OTS statewide opinion survey reported that 
62 percent of respondents stated that texting and talking are the biggest safety concerns on 
California roadways and 84 percent claimed cell phone conversations or texting while driving 
constitute the most serious distractions while driving. 
 
Another clue to the reduction in crashes might be found in new information from the Department 
of Motor Vehicles that shows, statewide in 2011, there were 460,487 hand-held cell phone 
convictions – up 22 percent from 361,260 convictions in 2010 and 52 percent from 301,833 in 
2009.  The cost of a ticket for a first offense is at least $159, and $279 for subsequent offenses. 
 
“Highly visible and publicized enforcement, along with the cooperation of the motoring public to 
reduce distractions behind the wheel, has played a significant role in the reduction in collisions,” 
said California Highway Patrol (CHP) Commissioner Joe Farrow.  “In addition, there are many 
educational programs developed by the CHP, our allied agencies, as well as non-profit 
organizations such as Impact Teen Drivers that have made sustained efforts in reducing 
distracted driving.’’  
 
In April 2011, the Office of Traffic Safety using federal funds conducted the nation’s first 
statewide cell phone observational survey that showed nine percent of drivers were talking or 
texting while driving, representing hundreds of thousands of drivers at any given time.  Research 
has shown that drivers who use hand-held devices are four times as likely to get into crashes 
serious enough to injure themselves. 
 
The distracted driving section of the California Strategic Highway Safety Plan (SHSP) has 
developed the state’s “It’s Not Worth It!” public awareness campaign that employs TV, radio 
commercials, billboards, internet, social media and other outreach. In addition, millions of 
Californians see the “Handheld Cell Ticket - $159 – It’s Not Worth It” message on more than 
625 permanent changeable message signs for several days throughout the year. The SHSP’s 
distracted driving section is currently formulating plans to increase the data and research 
available to more accurately understand and combat the problem. 
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